Creative Commons

Introducing Creative Commons (CC)

Creative Commons (CC) is a non-profit organization located in the United States. They created a set of simple, easy to understand copyright licenses known as Creative Commons licenses. These licenses allow creators to communicate which rights they reserve, and which rights they waive for the benefit of recipients or other creators. Each CC license is represented with a symbol that explains all the rights associated with the resource. The CC license provides an alternative to “All Rights Reserved” option and builds a layer of reasonable and flexible copyright. Using a Creative Commons license on open educational resources has become a main stay within the sector.

There are six Creative Commons licenses that include a combination of the following 4 basic requirements:

Attribution: You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your work, including derivative works, only if they give you credit. This is a requirement of all 6 licenses.

Non-commercial: You allow other to copy, distribute, display, and perform your work for non-commercial purposes only.

No Derivatives: You allow other copy, distribute, display, and perform only exact copies of your work.

Share-Alike: You allow others to distribute derivative works under an identical license.

CC0 Public Domain Dedication: You waive all copyright and related rights to a work to the extent possible under the law.

Suggest a Link or Resource

Inba Kehoe
Head, Scholarly Communication &          Copyright Officer

CCYBYExcept where otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License