Our Research Team

“At the heart of Sisters Rising is moving our stories away from just risk and damage, toward resurgence of our amazing spirits, dignity, and self-determination over our lands and our bodies”
Sisters Rising participant


“My name is Shezell-Rae Sam; I am from the Ahousaht Nation, which is in Maaqutusiis village, within the lands of Nuu-chah-nulth People. I was an uninvited guest when I moved here at the age of 14; I continued to grow, live and learn on the traditional lands of the Lkwungen speaking people, and SENĆOŦEN speaking people. I am married to Nick who is from W̱JOȽEȽP (Place of Maples) (Tsartlip First Nation), which is a part of W̱SÁNEĆ (the emerging people), together we are raising our five children. Currently, I am a MA student with the school of Child & Youth Care, and am a teaching assistant, while continuing to facilitate research. I am passionate about re-centering Indigenous teachings, while researching the impacts of lateral violence.


Anna was born in Ndola, Zambia and immigrated to Victoria, B.C. (a long time ago!). Anna has been living living, working, and enjoying rural life with her family in northern British Columbia for the past thirteen years. Anna works as a child and youth art therapist and is completing a graduate degree at the University of Victoria in the School of Child and Youth Care. A focus of her current research is to support girls in the north to strengthen cultural identity and advocate for social change in their communities. In her spare time, Anna likes to spend time with her family on the land, ice fish, cross-country ski and play hockey on the Dease Lake Women’s Hockey Team (a.k.a. The Tin Chicks).


Hello, my English name is Chantal Adams and my Haida name is Jaadaa Stlinlaa. I was born and raised on my traditional homeland of Haida Gwaii for the first eight years of my life. I am Haida through my father and of European descent through my mother. I grew up with an abundance of family and enjoying living with the land. My connection with my culture and my family is what guides me in my daily and academic lives. I am still learning, growing, and pursuing knowledge about my culture and I hope to learn spruce root weaving from my aunty in the near future. I am currently enrolled in the Child and Youth Care program at the University of Victoria doing my ‘Indigenous specialization.’ I try to bring my spirit and the spirit of my culture into my work. 


My name is Shantelle Moreno and I was born and raised on traditional Musqueam territories, (Vancouver, BC). My parents immigrated as children from opposite sides of the world, and I am of mixed South Asian and South American ancestry. I’ve had the honour and privilege of living on Lkwungen, Esquimalt, and WSANEC lands (Victoria, BC) for almost 13 years. I am a student in the School of Child and Youth Care, and work as a youth and family counsellor and youth facilitator. I am passionate about feminism, supporting LGBTQ youth, and strengthening cultural identity and connections amongst girls and young women.


My name is Angela Scott and I have lived on the west coast for most my life. I have had the honour and privilege of living and working on the unceded traditional territories of the Musqueam, Kwantlen, Esquimalt and WSANEC peoples.  I am Ojibwe and Metis through my paternal lineage, Danish and English through my maternal lineage.  I have worked with children, youth and families for almost 10 years, primarily in child welfare and mental health.  Currently, I work with children, youth and families who have experienced and/or witnessed abuse, through a Victoria area counselling and advocacy centre.  I come to my practice in a way that is best described as response–based, feminist, and carries my own traditional knowledge, while upholding dignity and respect for all people with whom I work.


Hello, my traditional name is Imscha and my given name is Keenan Andrew. I come from the Ahousaht First Nation of the Nuu’chah’nulth People. I was born in Tofino on traditional Nuu’chah’nulth territory; however, I was raised on traditional K’ómoks territory. My partner is from K’ómoks First Nation and we have a son together. My Indigenous culture and traditions are what guide my day-to-day life, as well as my practice as a Child and Youth Care praxis. I love my family and being a father, being outdoors, photography, baseball, and hockey to name a few! Klecko klecko (thank you).


Hello, my name is Michaela Louie! I have mixed european and Nuu Chah Nulth ancestry. I have always lived on Coast Salish lands, and I am grateful and honoured to have lived on these grounds that hold so much power and strength. I did not have the opportunity to grow up on my families traditional lands, nor was I raised with traditional teachings or cultural activities. Since starting post secondary, I have explored my family history, and started learning about my culture and traditions. Indigenous activism is something that is very important to me, and I constantly strive to decolonize my praxis. I am in my fourth year of my Child and Youth Care undergrad, specializing in the Indigenous stream. In my spare time I like reading and going to the beach. Kleco-Kleco


My name is Nicole Land and I have been living in Victoria, on the territory of the Coast and Straits Salish people, since 2011, when I moved from Alberta. My family originally arrived from Ireland, Scotland, England, and Poland, and I try my best to make sure that I am being accountable to my privilege as a settler in my work and personal life (I still have so, so much to learn). Currently, I get to work with some brilliant children and educators as I complete my research, which is about fats, muscles, and movement in early childhood education. In my spare time, I love to eat anything with rainbow sprinkles, watch sports (especially curling and hockey – go Oilers!), and take care of my succulents and plants.